Legato's Thread of Bomberman Stuff
[Replies: 117]  [Views: 28973]
Users browsing this topic: 3 Guests
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Reply to Topic  BombermanBoard Forum Index -> Bomberman In General

legato
Bomberman

Post#1  Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:38 pm  Reply with quote + 
Hello everyone. I figured since I post randomly with my discoveries and random shares of all things Bomberman, I would just make a master thread for my obsession. In this thread I'll dump random things with time I learn or discover and want to share with you all.

Lately I've been playing the MSX Bomberman games and I've learned many new and strange things about that game. So now I am here (and with GIFs!) to show you all how bizarre that game really is. EDIT: This post now has better quality GIFs!

For those who may not be aware, this is Bomberman, released for the MSX (don't worry, you're not missing much.)

[Collapse] Bomberman (MSX)

I started playing through this game and wanted to see how far it would go, my curiosity leading me to see several weird things never seen otherwise in the Bomberman series (to my knowledge anyway.)

First there's the Balloon enemies. Now this is the only enemy in the game and it starts simple enough; stage 1 has 1, stage 2 has 2 etc. until you reach 4. Then the game just loops 4 enemies forever and nothing ever really changes. The balloons have behavior patterns which is quite weird. They begin happy, just floating around and being nonsensical, when their expression starts to change. The second face appears sometimes and is this simple line face, something like this: ._. and then into a worried face.

Finally they turn red and get this malicious face and will pursue you, being easily exploited in some cases because they want to charge you directly and are easy to trap. Then they reset to happy and it all starts over again.