[Replies: 28]  [Views: 10486]
Users browsing this topic: 1 Guest
Page: 1, 2  Next
Reply to Topic  BombermanBoard Forum Index -> Clones & Projects

DoomJedi
Bomberbie

Post#1  Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 7:37 am  Reply with quote + 
Hi, I'm new to those forums :)

I'm a Spriter and a modder, and am bad with coding.

I'm more known at Doom, Wolf3D and Keen modding forums/communities.

Lately I re-found on my harddrive an old open-source Bomberman clone (DOS, Borland C++), sitting there probably for at least 18 years. It's very nice and proffesionally-looking, but without sounds, or single player mode or more advanced powerups etc...But pretty solid base.
It's not my source, and I now don't remember who made it originally and it's looks like abandonware.

I wanted to use it as a base for Bomberman modding.
On Wolf3D forums people weren't too excited...so I turned to "Commander Keen" forums and started "BomberKeen" project - and released an alpha replacing original art with Keen-related art and themes.
http://www.pckf.com/viewtopic.php?t=2655

But this is not the issue, just one example/application of such engine.

I now need a coder to advance this further as I'm very bad in coding.
I want to implement more advanced features/powerups and menus, to make it closer to SNES Bombermans.

Then as an engine - each community can take it for it's own purposes.... as sub-projects like BomberKeen.

So...anyone interested?

Last edited by DoomJedi on Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:40 am
View user profile Send Private Message
Plasma Bomber
Board Admin

Post#2  Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 10:46 pm  Reply with quote + 
Hahahah, that's awesome. I don't know what the original game (pre-mod) looked like, but this looks pretty good. I like the way that you used/modified the Keen games' assets, particularly for the soft blocks and such. Also, it seems like a pretty solid engine for a Bomberman clone - not something that I've seen very often. Nice choice for a modding project.